9/11

Copyright © Eugene Pierce

Ten years ago, I woke to witness the absolute worst and the very best that humanity has to offer. Now, a decade later, I am sadly left with the feeling that there are far too many days in which the worst has the upper hand. Terrorist groups still twist and warp the words of religion to justify their goals, while, our own politicians, use the events of that day as a rallying cry to serve their own agendas. Many of the responders that survived that day and the days to follow, still struggle to obtain the quality of medical care they so desperately need and deserve.

Although many hold names, such as King, Mother Theresa and Gandhi in high regard, it seems we have only learned the words, they spoke, and not their true lessons. I don’t remember, where I read it, but one of my favorite quotes has always been: “pray for your enemies.”

Standard